By: Andrew McDonald
Illustrated by: Ben Wood
Genre: YF - Children's / Teenage fiction & true stories
Published by: Hardie Grant Egmont
Published: 1 Jun 2018
ISBN: 9781760129293


Ever wonder why pigeons always act so weird? It’s because they’re out there chasing the bad guys and saving your butts!

Did you know your city is protected by a secret squad of crime-fighting pigeons? It's true! With master of disguise Rock Pigeon, bendy Tumbler, strong Frillback and super-finder Homey, the REAL PIGEONS will solve any mystery and fight any bad guy to keep the city safe!

Perfect for fans of Aaron Blabey's Bad Guys and Dav Pilkey's Dog Man books, the Real Pigeons series is a hilariously silly and highly visual introduction to the joys of reading and crime-fighting.


This is the first in a fabulous new series that is perfect for junior readers who are starting to branch away from picture books, and with ‘three mysteries in one’, this will add to the feeling of accomplishment that they have finished a book!

Follow Rock, Tumbler, Frillback and Homey as they embark on adventures to save their city. All three stories, The Great Breadcrumb Mystery, The Bat Trapper and Danger at the Food Truck Fair are full of mystery and fun.

The pigeons show bravery and commitment and although this is a highly humorous book, there are some important messages about friendship, teamwork, courage and ‘having a go’ portrayed throughout.

With great illustrations and lots of laughs, this is sure to be a hit.

Reviewed by Sam

Order Now