By: Lee Battersby & Amy Daoud
Genre: YFB - General fiction (Children's/Teenage)
Published by: Walker Books
Published: 01 Mar 2016
ISBN: 9781925081343


For fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline, Tinder and David Almond; a haunting tale about accepting the truth about yourself, presented in a gothic gift package. Magrit lives in an abandoned cemetery with her friend and advisor, Master Puppet, whom she built from bones and bits of graveyard junk. She is as forgotten as the tiny graveyard world that surrounds her. 

One night as Magrit and Master Puppet sit atop of their crumbling chapel, a passing stork drops a baby into the graveyard. Defying Master Puppet's demands that the baby be disposed of, and taking no heed of his dire warnings, Magrit decides to raise the baby herself. She gives him a name: Bugrat. 

Magrit loves Bugrat like a brother, friend and son all rolled into one. But Master Puppet and the newly discovered skeleton girl know all too well what will happen when Bugrat grows up - that the truth about them all will be revealed. Something Magrit refuses to face. 


Magrit lives in a small, abandoned cemetery. Surrounded by apartments, she remains hidden from everyone, except her friend Master Puppet.

She happily spends her days playing games that she makes up in her head. One day the stork comes past and drops a squealing baby boy in the cemetery. Master Puppet advises her to give it away but Magrit decides to keep him and so Bugrat enters her life.

This is a haunting yet poignant tale about trying to hide the truth from yourself and the freedom Magrit finds when she finally accepts who she is.

A perfect story for your Year 5/6 girls who like a good supernatural story with a twist.

Reviewed by Michelle